## <u>Appointments to Professional Services</u> <u>Advancement Support Scheme Vetting</u> Committee announced

The Government announced today (December 30) the reappointments of Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu and Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun as the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman respectively of the Vetting Committee of the Professional Services Advancement Support Scheme (PASS).

The Government has also appointed Professor Raymond Choy Hon-sing, Dr Janice Ho Yuen-shan and Ms Juliana Lam Hiu-ying as new members of the Vetting Committee and reappointed 12 incumbent members.

All the above appointments will take effect on January 1, 2025, for a term of two years.

PASS provides financial support for non-profit-distributing organisations to carry out industry-led projects to increase exchanges and co-operation between Hong Kong's professional services and external counterparts, promote relevant publicity activities and enhance the standards and external competitiveness of Hong Kong's professional services. In order to step up the promotion of Hong Kong's competitive edges and professional services to the Mainland and overseas markets after the pandemic situation has stabilised, \$50 million has also been set aside under PASS to subsidise Hong Kong major professional bodies to participate in relevant activities organised by the Government and the Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

The Vetting Committee considers individual project proposals under PASS, recommends on the level of funding support, monitors the implementation of the approved projects and advises the Government on the assessment criteria adopted for PASS.

The full membership of the Vetting Committee with effect from January 1, 2025, is as follows:

Chairman

Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu

Vice-Chairman

Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun

Members

Mr Chan Chak-bun Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor Professor Raymond Choy Hon-sing

Dr Janice Ho Yuen-shan

Mr Geoffrey Kao

Ms Juliana Lam Hiu-ying

Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen

Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan

Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai

Ms Pearl Tse Pui-pui

Professor Wong Kam-fai

Professor Yuen Pak-leung

Executive Director of the Hong Kong Productivity Council or his/her

representative

Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his/her

representative

Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development