<u>Appointments to Process Review Panel</u> <u>for Insurance Authority</u>

The Government announced today (October 29) that the Financial Secretary, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has reappointed Mr Eugene Fung Ting-shek, SC, as the Chairman of the Process Review Panel (PRP) for the Insurance Authority (IA), and also appointed a new member and six incumbent members for a term of two years from November 1, 2021, to October 31, 2023.

The newly appointed member is Mr Paul Cheung Lap, while Miss Grace Chan Man-yee, Mr Chow Wai-shun, Mrs Agnes Koon Woo Kam-oi, Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen, Mr James Lin and Mr Jeff Wong Kwan-kit have been re-appointed as members of the PRP.

Announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "We are grateful for the time and effort that the Chairman and members of the PRP have devoted to review and advise the IA on the adequacy of its internal procedures and operational guidelines. We are confident that the PRP will continue to operate effectively and help ensure that the IA exercises its regulatory powers in a fair and consistent manner."

The PRP is an independent panel established with the approval of the Chief Executive on November 1, 2019, to review and advise the IA on the adequacy of the IA's internal procedures and operational guidelines governing the actions taken and operational decisions made by the IA and its staff in the performance of the IA's regulatory functions.

The membership of the PRP with effect from November 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Eugene Fung Ting-sek, SC

Members

Miss Grace Chan Man-yee Mr Paul Cheung Lap Mr Chow Wai-shun Mrs Agnes Koon Woo Kam-oi Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen Mr James Lin Mr Jeff Wong Kwan-kit

Ex-officio Members

Chairman of the IA

Secretary for Justice (or her representative)