<u>Appointments to Private Columbaria</u> <u>Licensing Board</u>

The Government announced today (August 25) the appointments to the new term of the Private Columbaria Licensing Board.

The Chief Executive reappointed the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene as the Chairperson of the Licensing Board and Mr Ip Kwok-him as the Deputy Chairperson. In addition, three existing members, namely Mr James Mathew Fong, Dr Ho Chi-ming and Miss Alice Wan Ngai-teck, are reappointed; and Ms Cally Chan Shan-shan, Dr Cheung Tin-cheung, Mr Leung Sze-kit and Dr James Wong Kong-tin are appointed as new members of the Licensing Board. All appointments will be effective for three years from September 8, 2023.

The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, said, "The members of the Licensing Board come from various fields, including law, building, engineering, business, accounting and social service. They are equipped with professional knowledge and wide exposure to public services; I believe they will provide the needed knowledge and valuable advice to the Board in the discharge of its statutory functions.

"I am sincerely thankful for the contribution made by the four retiring members, Mr Cheung Hau-wai, Ms Elizabeth Law, Dr Johnny Ng Kit-chong and Professor James Kenneth Pong Kam-keung, to the Licensing Board in the past six years."

The Licensing Board is a statutory body established under section 8(1) of the Private Columbaria Ordinance (Cap. 630), for regulating the operation and management of private columbaria, in particular handling the applications for specified instruments (licence, exemption and temporary suspension of liability), issuing relevant guidelines and codes of practice, handling complaints, etc.

The membership list of the new term of the Licensing Board is as follows:

Ex-officio member Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (Chairperson)

Members appointed on an ad personam basis
Mr Ip Kwok-him (Deputy Chairperson)
Ms Cally Chan Shan-shan
Dr Cheung Tin-cheung
Mr James Mathew Fong
Dr Ho Chi-ming
Mr Leung Sze-kit
Miss Alice Wan Ngai-teck

Dr James Wong Kong-tin