## <u>Appointments to Ping Wo Fund Advisory</u> Committee

The Government today (August 5) announced the appointments to the Ping Wo Fund Advisory Committee (the Committee) for a two-year term from September 16, 2019 to September 15, 2021.

Two members, Mr Ng Chak-hang and Dr Johannes Poon Yin-kwong, have been newly appointed to the Committee through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth. The Chairman and 10 incumbent members have been reappointed to the Committee.

Members Ms Denise Che Huey-sze, Mr Howard Ling Ho-wan and Mr Stanley Yeung Chee-tat will be leaving the Committee. The Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Lau Kong-wah, expressed his heartfelt thanks to the three outgoing members for their valuable advice and contributions to the work of the Committee during their tenure.

The full membership of the Committee with effect from September 16, 2019 is as follows:

## Chairman

Mr Adrian Yip Chun-to

## Members

Mr Chan Chun-chung

Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting

Ms Chan Wing-man

Dr Ronald Chen Yuk-lun

Ms Michelle Cheng

Dr Andrew Chiu Ka-yin

Mr Sam Chong Yan-kit

Miss Cherene Ho Ching-wai

Ms Fonnie Leung Fung-yee

Mr Ng Chak-hang

Dr Johannes Poon Yin-kwong

Miss Wong Sze-sze

Secretary for Home Affairs or representative (ex-officio)

Secretary for Education or representative (ex-officio)

Director of Social Welfare or representative (ex-officio)

The function of the Committee is to advise the Secretary for Home Affairs on the use of the Ping Wo Fund (the Fund). The Fund is mainly used to finance the following measures:

- (a) research and studies into problems and issues relating to gambling;
- (b) public education and other measures to prevent or alleviate problems relating to gambling; and
- (c) counselling, treatment and other remedial or support services for gamblers with gambling disorders and those affected by them.