<u>Appointments to Ping Wo Fund Advisory</u> <u>Committee</u>

The Government announced today (September 15) the appointments to the Ping Wo Fund Advisory Committee and the reappointment of Ms Lu Hai as the Chairperson. Five incumbent members have been reappointed and six members have been newly appointed to the Committee, namely Dr Angel Lai Hor-yan, Mr Lam Tsz-hung, Ms Janet Lee Ching-yee, Miss Li Ka-ying, Mr Cliff Tang Wingchun and Mr Wong Ting-hong. The two-year term of the Chairperson and members will take effect from September 16, 2023, to September 15, 2025.

The Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, Miss Alice Mak, welcomed the appointments. She was pleased to see that the members are from different sectors and professions, and would give valuable advice to the work of the Committee. She also expressed her appreciation to the outgoing members for their efforts and contributions to the work of the Committee during their term of service.

The membership list of the Committee, with effect from September 16, 2023, is as follows:

Chairperson

Ms Lu Hai

Members

Mr Ko Hiu-wing Dr Angel Lai Hor-yan Mr Lam Tsz-hung Ms Janet Lee Ching-yee Miss Li Ka-yan Miss Li Ka-ying Mr Ng Chak-hang Dr Johannes Poon Yin-kwong Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun Mr Wong Ting-hong Ms Zhang Ti

The function of the Committee is to advise the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs on the use of the Ping Wo Fund. The Fund is mainly used to finance the following measures:

(a) research and studies into problems and issues relating to gambling;

(b) public education and other measures to prevent or alleviate problems relating to gambling; and

(c) counselling, treatment and other remedial or support services for

gamblers with gambling disorder and those affected by them.