Appointments to new term of Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation

The Government today (March 28) announced the membership of the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC). Professor Tam Karyan has been reappointed as the Chairman of the HKCPEC, while Ms Emily Cheung, Mr Dickson Kwok, Ms Edith Law, Dr Miranda Lou and Professor Lui Honkwong have been reappointed as members. Mr Nicholas Lai, Ms Sophia Lee and Dr Raymond Wong have been appointed as new members. The aforementioned nonofficial members are appointed for a new term of two years from April 1, 2024, to March 31, 2026.

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Algernon Yau, said, "I would like to express my gratitude to the Chairman and the other eight non-official members for accepting the appointments. Their experience and expertise in their respective sectors will undoubtedly provide useful insights to the HKCPEC in promoting regional economic co-operation. I would also like to thank the outgoing members, namely Professor Chan Wai-sum, Mr Geoffrey Kao, Mr Kelvin Lau and Miss Oriana Yeung, for their valuable contributions during their tenure."

The HKCPEC is a tripartite forum, comprising members from the academic, business and government sectors, to co-ordinate Hong Kong, China's participation in the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC), a non-profit, policy-oriented regional organisation with 22 member economies dedicated to the promotion of regional economic development. Over the years, apart from contributing actively to the discussion on the PECC front, the HKCPEC has also been promoting locally the importance of regional trade and economic co-operation through a series of internship and youth programmes.

The new membership list of the HKCPEC is as follows:

Chairman Professor Tam Kar-yan

Vice Chairman
Deputy Director-General of Trade and Industry

Members
Ms Emily Cheung
Mr Dickson Kwok
Mr Nicholas Lai
Ms Edith Law
Ms Sophia Lee
Dr Miranda Lou
Professor Lui Hon-kwong

Dr Raymond Wong Government Economist or his/her representative Director of Research of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his/her representative