<u>Appointments to new term of Advisory</u> <u>Committee on Recycling Fund announced</u>

The Environment Bureau today (July 30) announced the appointments to the new term of the Advisory Committee on Recycling Fund. Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin has been appointed as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee. In addition, 10 members will continue to serve on the Advisory Committee and eight new members have been appointed.

The appointments are for a term of three years starting August 1, 2021.

The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, thanked the Advisory Committee for its great efforts during the past three years for helping promote the recovery and recycling of waste into useful resources by facilitating the upgrade in operational capabilities and the efficiency of the recycling industry. He added that the Government announced in February this year the "Waste Blueprint for Hong Kong 2035". Setting out the vision of "Waste Reduction‧Resources Circulation‧Zero Landfill", the blueprint outlines the strategies, goals and measures to tackle the challenge of waste management up to 2035. In addition, he hopes that the Advisory Committee in its new term will continue to maintain close communication with the recycling industry and stakeholders to promote sustainable development of the trade and support the industry to apply technology to make high value-added products. This would help achieve re-industrialisation, reduce disposal at landfills and promote a circular economy to reduce waste and the carbon footprint.

The Advisory Committee comprises experts, academics and people with experience in business management and community service, as well as representatives from various business and industry associations. Representatives of relevant government bureaux and departments including the Environmental Protection Department, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, the Labour Department, the Home Affairs Department and the Trade and Industry Department will also be invited to attend meetings for discussion as and when required.

The membership of the new term of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Chairperson Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin #

Members Ms Bonnie Chan Jo-ying # Dr Chung Shan-shan # Mr Roger Ho Wang Dr Amie Lai Gor # Mr Nicholas Lai Yui-man # Dr Evelyn Lam Ho-yi Dr Barry Lee Chi-hong # Dr Frank Leung Yat-cheong # Ms Kelly Wong Ka-lei Mr Terry Yip Man-pan Mr Yuet Ngai-keung # Mr Edward Chan Chi-wing (Representative of the Business Environment Council) Mr Andrew Chan Shiu-shan (Representative of the Hong Kong Chinese Importers' & Exporters' Association) Prof Daniel Cheng Man-chung (Representative of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries) Mr Teddy Cheung Ching-yeung (Representative of the Hong Kong Association of Property Management Companies) Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai (Representative of the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong) Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen # (Representative of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce) Prof Raymond Leung Hai-ming (Representative of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce)

New member

To facilitate the operation of the \$1 billion Recycling Fund, the Environment Bureau established the Advisory Committee in August 2015 to advise and make recommendations to the Government on matters relating to the overall administration and operation of the Recycling Fund. The Advisory Committee has so far approved 1 710 applications involving a total funding of over \$610 million. The Government has injected \$1 billion to the Fund in April 2021, extending the application period to 2027 to render continuous support to the recycling industry for its sustainable development.