<u>Appointments to new-term Commission on Poverty</u>

The Government today (June 28) announced appointments to the new-term Commission on Poverty (CoP) for a term of two years from July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2026.

The Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Chan Kwok-ki, as the Chairperson of the CoP, expressed his gratitude to all members of the current-term CoP for their efforts and contributions, as well as their support for the Government's strategy of targeted poverty alleviation with resources directed to people most in need. He welcomed members of the newterm CoP and looked forward to close collaboration with them to ensure that poverty alleviation policy initiatives meet the needs of target groups.

Mr Chan said that the current-term Government had been working closely with the CoP in taking forward concrete initiatives of targeted poverty alleviation, including the Strive and Rise Programme, the Pilot Programme on Community Living Room, the School-based After School Care Service Scheme, and engagement of District Services and Community Care Teams (Care Teams) to help identify elderly households in need through visits or contacts, based on the needs of such target groups as households residing in subdivided units, single-parent households, and elderly households. The Government, jointly with the new-term CoP, will continue with the work of targeted poverty alleviation to enhance the sense of contentment and happiness among the target groups.

The membership of the new-term CoP is as follows:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official members

Mr Calvin Chan Ming-wai*
Professor Terence Chong Tai-leung
Ms Helen Hsu Siu-man*
Mr Howard Hung Wing-yip
Mr Kan Ming-tung*
Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah*
Mrs Patricia Lau*
Ms Josephine Lee Yuk-chi
Mr James Li Tsz-shu
Ms Loretta Lo Yee-hang
Ms Nikki Ng Mien-hua
Mrs Chandni Rakesh*
Dr Loletta So Kit-ying
Mr So Ping-fai

Mrs Mary Suen Choi To-may*
Mr Augustine Wong Ho-ming*
Ms Jessie Yu Sau-chu

Ex-officio members

Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs
Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Chairperson of Community Care Fund Task
Force)
Secretary for Education
Secretary for Health

^{*} new members