<u>Appointments to Museum Advisory</u> <u>Committee</u>

The Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau announced today (October 20) appointments to the Museum Advisory Committee (MAC) and its three standing sub-committees, namely the Art Sub-committee (ASC), the History Sub-committee (HSC) and the Science Sub-committee (SSC), with the appointment of Professor Douglas So Cheung-tak as Chairperson of the MAC, Professor Desmond Hui Cheukkuen as Chairperson of the ASC, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho as Chairperson of the HSC and Professor Alexander Wai Ping-kong as the Chairperson of the SSC.

All appointments are for a two-year term up to October 19, 2026.

The MAC and its three standing sub-committees, established on October 20, 2016, comprise members of different backgrounds with a great wealth of professional expertise and experience relevant to the work of the museums, including professionals, academics, museum experts, collectors, art promoters, entrepreneurs, marketing and public relations experts, and community leaders. The MAC and its three standing sub-committees advise the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) on strategies for development, promotion and management of the public museums.

A spokesman for the Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau thanked all the Chairperson and members of the MAC and its standing sub-committees for their ardent support and invaluable contributions in the past years, including Professor Ching Pak-chung, the outgoing SSC Chairperson; nine outgoing MAC members (Mr Aaron Raj Chandrasakaran, Ms Liza Cheung Lai-sang, Dr Allen Fung Yuk-lun, Ms Elaine Kwok, Dr Kwong Chi-man, Mr Lau Hang-on, Mr Alan Lau Kaming, Ms Helen So Hiu-ming and Mr Eliott Hancock Suen), and six outgoing coopted members (Ir Thomas Chan Kwok-cheung, Mr Chan Sing, Ms Fanny Iu Kai-fan, Mr Freeman Lau Siu-hong, Ms Lo Ning and Mr James Mok Hon-fai), and looked forward to receiving the valuable advice of the new MAC and its standing subcommittees on the development of the public museums.

â€∢

The membership list and terms of reference of the MAC are as follows:

Chairperson Professor Douglas So Cheung-tak

Members Professor Karen Chan Ka-yin* Mr Michael Chan Sze-wah Ms Rowena Cheung Po-man Ms Amanda Cheung Zee-yin* Mr Chiu Tsang-hei Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing* Dr Crystal Fok Lo-ming Ms Elizabeth Fung Hoi-yung* Mr Andy Hei Kao-chiang Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen Mr Christopher Kwok Kai-wang* Mr Edmund Lai Man-kit Ms Tendy Lam Pui-tung* Mr Lam Shu-kam* Ms Josephine Lee Yuk-chi Mr James Li Tsz-shu* Mr Warren Luk Hua Ms Erica Ma Yun Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho Ms Joyce Ng Sheung-ching* Ms Provides Ng Tsing-yin* Dr Ng Tsz-yan Dr Chloe Suen Yin-wah Mr James Tong Wai-pong Professor Alexander Wai Ping-kong* Dr Jimmy Wong Kam-yiu Ms Anna Yau Wai-yu **Official Members** Representative of Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau*

Representative of Tourism Commission*

Representative of Cultural and Creative Industries Development Agency \ast

Representative of Education Bureau*

Representative of Leisure and Cultural Services Department*

*Newly appointed Members

Terms of Reference

To advise the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services on a wide range of subject matters concerning the public museums and related offices managed by the LCSD:

- positioning, image-building and branding;
- business development strategies including but not limited to acquisition and use of museum collections, organisation of exhibitions and education programmes, identification of research projects, sponsorship and partnership initiatives;
- marketing and publicity strategies on the promotion of the museums both locally, in the Mainland and overseas;
- development of community engagement strategies to reach out to a wider community and stakeholders (e.g. local artists, collectors, local and overseas museums, cultural organisations, and educational institutions);
- measures to strengthen the operational efficiency and accountability of public museums; and
- any other matters as proposed by the LCSD.

 $\hat{a} \notin \$ The membership lists and terms of reference of the three standing sub-committees are attached in Annexes 1 to 3.