Appointments to Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority and Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board

The Government announced today (September 18) appointments to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) and the Occupational Retirement Schemes Appeal Board (ORSAB).

The Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (Cap. 485) (MPFSO) delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has re-appointed Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-sum, SC, as a Non-executive Director of the MPFA.

At the same time, the Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the Occupational Retirement Schemes Ordinance (Cap. 426) (ORSO) delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has appointed Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping and Ms Miranda So Man-wah as the Chairlady and the Deputy Chairlady of the ORSAB respectively. He has also appointed Ms Hilda Lam and reappointed Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang and Mr Eric Tong as members of the ORSAB.

The above appointments and re-appointments will take effect on October 1, 2020, for a period of two years until September 30, 2022, both dates inclusive.

Welcoming Ms Cheng's re-appointment to the MPFA, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "Ms Cheng has provided the MPFA with invaluable insights from the legal perspective and beyond. I am confident that the MPFA will continue to excel with her contributions."

Mr Hui also welcomed the appointments and re-appointments to the ORSAB. He said, "With members' wealth of experience, I am confident that the Appeal Board will uphold its impartiality under the new ORSO regime."

Mr Hui thanked Ms Cynthia Chung Wing-suet, the outgoing Chairman of the ORSAB, for her dedicated service on the Board.

The MPFA is a statutory body established in September 1998 under the MPFSO for the regulation and supervision of the MPF System.

The membership of the MPFA with effect from October 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairman

Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Alice Law Shing-mui

Non-Executive Directors

Mr Chan Kam-lam

Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-sum, SC

Dr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo

Mr Lam Chun-sing

Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau

Mr Abraham Shek Lai-him

Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung

Mr Kingsley Wong Kwok

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) as alternate)
Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare as alternate)

Executive Directors

Mr Cheng Yan-chee

Mr Leo Chu King-chi

Ms Cynthia Hui Wai-yee

Ms Gabriella Yee Gar-bo

The ORSAB was established in accordance with Section 61 of the ORSO to determine appeals against decisions of the Registrar of Occupational Retirement Schemes as specified in the ORSO.

The membership of the ORSAB with effect from October 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairlady

Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Miranda So Man-wah

Members

Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang

Ms Hilda Lam

Mr Eric Tong