Appointments to Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Advisory Committee and Appeal Board

The Government announced today (October 30) appointments to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Advisory Committee (MPFSAC) and the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Appeal Board (MPFSAB).

The Chief Executive, in exercise of her authority under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (MPFSO), has re-appointed Mr Ip Kwok-him as the Chairman of the MPFSAC.

At the same time, the Financial Secretary, in exercise of the authority under the MPFSO delegated to him by the Chief Executive, has appointed Ms Eva Sit Yat-wah, SC, and Mr Raymond Ng Ching-fat as the Chairman and a member of the MPFSAB, respectively. He has also re-appointed three MPFSAB members, namely Mr Chow Luen-kiu, Ms Tam Kam-lin and Ms Lily Wong.

The above appointments will be for a term of two years from November 1, 2020, to October 31, 2022 (both dates inclusive).

The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, welcomed the re-appointment of Mr Ip to the MPFSAC. "Mr Ip has a deep understanding of the Mandatory Provident Fund system and has offered valuable advice to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) over the years. We trust that the MPFSAC, under Mr Ip's leadership, will continue to assist the MPFA to improve," he said.

Welcoming the appointments to the MPFSAB, Mr Hui said, "Members of the MPFSAB come from various professions and sectors. I am confident that the MPFSAB will operate effectively and uphold its impartiality under Ms Sit's leadership."

He also thanked the outgoing MPFSAB Chairman, Mr Stewart Wong Kai-ming, SC, and Ms Belinda Luk Kwai-sim, member of the MPFSAB, for their valuable contributions in the past.

The MPFSAC is a statutory body established under section 6R of the MPFSO which advises the MPFA with respect to the operation of the MPFSO as well as the effectiveness and efficiency of the MPFA. Following is the membership list of the MPFSAC with effect from November 1, 2020:

Chairman

Mr Ip Kwok-him

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Alice Law Shing-mui

Members

Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan

Ms Chow Yuen-yee

Mr Lee Wing-man

Mr Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong

Dr Pan Pey-chyou

Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung

Ms Winnie Wong Chi-shun

Mr Emil Yu Chen-on

The MPFSAB is established in accordance with section 35 of the MPFSO to determine appeals against the decisions of the MPFA as specified in Schedule 6 to the MPFSO. The membership of the MPFSAB with effect from November 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairlady

Ms Eva Sit Yat-wah, SC

Deputy Chairlady

Ms Giovanna Kwong Fung-ping

Members

Mr Chow Luen-kiu

Ms Ding Chen

Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping

Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen

Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai

Mr Raymond Ng Ching-fat

Ms Miranda So Man-wah

Ms Tam Kam-lin

Ms Lily Wong

The above appointments were published in the Gazette today.