<u>Appointments to Management Committee</u> <u>of Consumer Legal Action Fund</u> announced

The Government announced today (November 15) the appointment of Dr Catherine Chong Shiu-yin as a new member and the re-appointments of Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han (ex-officio member), Ms Rebecca Chan Ching-chu, Mr Johnny Fee Chung-ming, Mr Richard Khaw Wei-kiang, SC, Mr Edmond Lam King-fung, Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay and Mr Selwyn Yu Sing-cheung, SC, as members of the Management Committee of the Consumer Legal Action Fund.

The appointment of Ms Wong will be effective from November 16, 2018, while the appointment of the other members will be effective from December 6, 2018, for a term of two years.

"We are grateful to the seven incumbent members for their continuous service on the Management Committee. With Dr Chong joining as a new member, we are confident that the Management Committee will continue to manage the Fund effectively and appropriately to protect consumer interests," a Government spokesman said.

"We also express our gratitude to Dr Lui Wing-cheong for his valuable contributions as he retires from the Management Committee," the spokesman said.

The Consumer Legal Action Fund was established in 1994 to facilitate consumer access to legal remedies by providing legal assistance to consumers in cases involving significant consumer interests.

The Consumer Council is the trustee of the Fund. The Management Committee assists the Consumer Council in managing the Fund and vetting applications under the Fund.

The composition of the Management Committee with effect from December 6, 2018, is as follows:

Ms Betty Chan Ka-wai

Ms Rebecca Chan Ching-chu

Dr Catherine Chong Shiu-yin

Mr Alex Fan Hoi-kit

Mr Johnny Fee Chung-ming

Mr Richard Khaw Wei-kiang, SC

Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay

Mr Edmond Lam King-fung

Miss Queenie Fiona Lau

Dr Lo Pui-yin

Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han (ex-officio member)

Mr Selwyn Yu Sing-cheung, SC