## <u>Appointments to Legal Aid Services</u> <u>Council</u>

The Government announced today (August 10) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Eric Li Ka-cheung as the Chairman of the Legal Aid Services Council for a term of one year with effect from September 1, 2018.

The Chief Executive has also appointed and re-appointed members to the Council for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2018. The newly appointed members are Mr Tim Parker and Mr Randy Shek, who are barrister members nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association; Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung and Mr Warren Ganesh, who are solicitor members nominated by the Law Society of Hong Kong; and Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze as a lay member. Three lay members, namely Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching, Ms Ayesha Abbas Macpherson and Ms Wong Wai-ching, have been re-appointed.

"We would like to thank the outgoing members, Ms Juliana Chow Hoi-ling, Ms Anna Kwong Sum-yee, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang and Ms Josephine Antonetta Pinto, for their sterling contribution and dedication to the work of the Council during their term of service," a Government spokesman said.

Established under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance (Cap. 489), the Council is responsible for overseeing the administration of the legal aid services provided by the Legal Aid Department and advising the Chief Executive on legal aid policy. The Council comprises a chairman and members who are not connected with the practice of law, barrister members and solicitor members nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association and the Law Society of Hong Kong respectively, and the Director of Legal Aid. The membership list is attached in the Annex.