## <u>Appointments to Legal Aid Services</u> Council

â€<The Government announced today (August 23) that the Chief Executive has appointed members to the Legal Aid Services Council for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2024.

Newly appointed members are Mr Sebastian Hughes, barrister member nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association; and two lay members, Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung and Ms Shiu Yin-ning. Reappointed members are Mr Tom Fu Ka-min and Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai, solicitor members nominated by the Law Society of Hong Kong; Mr Robin Nelson Egerton, barrister member nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association; and two lay members, Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan and Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan.

"We would like to thank the outgoing members, Mr Bosco Cheng Yu-kit, Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha, for their sterling contributions and dedication to the work of the Council during their term of service," a Government spokesman said.

Established under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance (Cap. 489), the Council is responsible for overseeing the administration of the legal aid services provided by the Legal Aid Department and advising the Chief Executive on legal aid policy. The Council comprises a chairman and lay members who are not connected with the practice of law; barrister members and solicitor members nominated by the Bar Association and the Law Society respectively; and the Director of Legal Aid.

The membership list of the Council with effect from September 1, 2024, is as follows:

## Chairman

Professor William Leung Wing-cheung

## Members

Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung

Mr Robin Nelson Egerton

Mr Tom Fu Ka-min

Mr Sebastian Hughes

Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan

Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan

Ms Shiu Yin-ning

Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai

Ex-officio member

Director of Legal Aid