## <u>Appointments to Judicial Officers</u> Recommendation Commission

The Government announced today (June 18) that the Chief Executive has appointed Ms Melissa Kaye Pang and re-appointed Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei as members of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission (the Commission) for the period from July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023.

Meanwhile, Dr Thomas So Shiu-tsung, a serving member of the Commission, will retire from the Commission on June 30, 2021.

"We wish to express our gratitude to Dr Thomas So Shiu-tsung for his invaluable advice rendered to the Commission during his term of office, and for his contribution to upholding Hong Kong's judicial independence," a Government spokesman said.

The functions of the Commission are to advise or make recommendations to the Chief Executive regarding the filling of vacancies in judicial offices, representations from judicial officers on conditions of service referred to it by the Chief Executive, and any matter affecting judicial officers which may be prescribed or which the Chief Executive may refer to it.

The membership list with effect from July 1, 2021, is as follows:

Ex-officio Chairman

Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal

## Members

Secretary for Justice (ex-officio member)
Mr Justice Jeremy Poon Shiu-chor
Madam Justice Carlye Chu Fun-ling
Mr Philip John Dykes, SC
Ms Melissa Kaye Pang
Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei
Mrs Pamela Chan Wong Shui
Professor Liu Pak-wai