## <u>Appointments to Intangible Cultural</u> <u>Heritage Advisory Committee</u>

The Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau announced today (December 31) appointments to the Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) Advisory Committee and its two sub-committees, namely the Sub-committee on ICH Funding Scheme and the Sub-committee on ICH Items, with the reappointments of Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang as Chairperson of the ICH Advisory Committee and Mr Cheung Kin-yip as Chairperson of the Sub-committee on ICH Funding Scheme, and the appointment of Professor Stephanie Chung Po-yin as Chairperson of the Sub-committee on ICH Items. All appointments are for a two-year term from January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2026.

The ICH Advisory Committee was established in 2008 comprising local academics, experts and community personalities. The ICH Advisory Committee and its two sub-committees advise the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government on the research of ICH and the measures to safeguard and promote ICH.

A spokesman for the Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau thanked all the chairpersons and members of the ICH Advisory Committee and its sub-committees for their ardent support and contributions to the work of the committees over the years, including the seven retiring members of the ICH Advisory Committee (Professor Ching May-bo, Ms Candice Leung Wai-yee, Ms Stella See Sau-ying, Dr Chloe Suen Yin-wah, Mr Brian Sze Pak-hung, Professor Timothy Wong Man-kong and Professor Yau Chi-on), three retiring members of the Sub-committee on ICH Funding Scheme (Mr Ronald Kan Yu-him, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho and Professor Poon Shuk-wah) and Professor Liu Tik-sang of the Sub-committee on ICH Items, and looks forward to receiving valuable advice from the new committees on the preservation, promotion and transmission of ICH.

The membership list and terms of reference of the ICH Advisory Committee are as follows:

## Chairperson:

Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang

## Members:

Ms Au Yeung Wai-yin

Ms Chan Hoi-yan

Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun

Mr Chan Sai-leong

Mr Cheung Kin-yip

Mr Jason Chong Chin-ming \*

Ms Quince Chong Wai-yan

Professor Stephanie Chung Po-yin

Dr Law Lok-yin

Dr John Lee Sam-yuen

Ms Lee Yan-kwan

Ms Emba Leung Wun-man \*

Dr Matt Ma Kin-hang \*

Dr Agnes Pang Suk-man \*

Dr Tai Suk-yan \*

Dr Tam Ka-chai

Mr Tong Cheuk-pan

Mr James Tong Wai-pong

Mr Aaron Tsang Kin-shing

Mr Brian Tsang Yui-kan

Ms Alison Tsoi Kai-wing \*

Professor Tsui Lik-hang

Ms Gigi Wong Ching-chi

Ms Vivian Wong Man-lei

Ms Anna Yau Wai-yu \*

Mr Adrian Yip Chun-to

Representative of the Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau Representative of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department

\* New appointees

## Terms of Reference:

- 1. To advise on the compilation and updating of the inventory and the representative list of ICH in Hong Kong;
- 2. To advise on the selection and nomination of Hong Kong's ICH items for application for inscription onto the national list or the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)'s list;
- 3. To advise on the measures for the safeguarding of ICH including research on and promotion, enhancement, transmission and revitalisation of ICH;
- 4. To advise on the issues related to the implementation of the ICH Funding Scheme for engaging the community in the safeguarding of ICH; and
- 5. To advise on any other issues related to ICH as proposed by the Government of the HKSAR.

The membership lists and terms of reference of the two sub-committees are attached in Annexes 1 and 2.