## **Appointments to Insurance Authority**

The Chief Executive has reappointed Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi as the Chairman of the Insurance Authority (IA). Furthermore, she has appointed Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan as new Non-Executive Director (NED) and reappointed seven incumbent NEDs, namely Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan, Professor Chan Wai-sum, Ms Chitty Cheung Fung-ting, Mr Kenneth Kwok Tsun-wa, Mr Ma Hofai, Mr James Wong Chien-kuo and Mr Stephen Yiu Kin-wah. These appointments will take effect from December 28, 2018, to December 27, 2021, for a term of three years, both dates inclusive.

Announcing the appointments today (December 21), the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, said, "Since taking up the chairmanship of the IA in December 2015, Dr Cheng has led the IA in setting its strategy and focus as a dynamic regulator capable of maintaining market stability and protecting the interest of policy holders, while promoting competitiveness of the Hong Kong insurance industry in the global arena.

"The IA is served by distinguished members drawn from different sectors of the community. We are confident that the NEDs, together with the Chairman, will continue to work in close partnership with all stakeholders in furthering the development of our insurance industry", he added.

Professor Wong, a new NED, is a Professor of Practice in Finance of the Faculty of Business and Economics of the University of Hong Kong. She has extensive experience in banking and finance.

The membership list of the IA with effect from December 28, 2018, is as follows:

Chairman

Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi

Non-Executive Directors

Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan Professor Chan Wai-sum Ms Chitty Cheung Fung-ting Mr Kenneth Kwok Tsun-wa Mr Ma Ho-fai Mr James Wong Chien-kuo Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan Mr Stephen Yiu Kin-wah

**Executive Directors** 

Mr Clement Cheung Wan-ching Ms Carol Hui Mei-ying Mr Simon Lam Sui-kong Mr Stephen Po Wai-kwong Mr Raymond Tam Wai-man