## <u>Appointments to Insurance Appeals</u> Tribunal

The Government announced today (July 25) that the Financial Secretary, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed 16 new members and reappointed 11 serving members to the panel of the Insurance Appeals Tribunal (IAT) for a new term from July 26, 2023, to July 25, 2025.

The panel membership of the IAT for the new term is as follows:

## New appointees

Mr Au Lut-chi
Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin
Mr Anthony Chan Kwok-tung
Mr Chan Pui-leung
Mr Arthur Chan Sung-lai
Mr Brian Chau
Professor Chen Nan
Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming
Mr Benson Hung Kin-ho
Mr Jiang Tao
Mr Mark Norman Reginald Johnson
Mr Lee Pak-kee
Mr Ken Lin
Mr Tommy So Chung
Professor Tam Kar-yan

## Reappointed members

Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling

Professor Chan Koon-hung
Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai
Mr Ian Chu Pak-ning
Ms Nixie Lam Lam
Mr Peter Li Po-ting
Dr Gladie Lui Man-ching
Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan
Mr Simon Tang Shu-pui
Mr Kevin Wong Ho
Mr Harry Wong Wing-tai
Mr James Wong Yuk-loi

A Government spokesman said, "The IAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions made by the Insurance Authority (IA) are reasonable and fair."

The Government also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members. They are Mr Frederick Chan Hing-fai, Professor Stella Cho Lung Pui-lan, Professor Goo Say-hak, Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai, Mr Eric Hui Kam-kwai, Professor Michael Hui King-man, Ms Julienne Jen, Mr Adrian King, Ms Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, Dr Miranda Lou Lai-wah, Mr Philip Mak Shun-pong, Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr Patrick Poon Sun-cheong, Mr Bhabani Sankar Rath, Mr Gary Soo Kwok-leung, Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang and Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki.

The IAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) to review specified decisions made by the IA. The IAT consists of the chairperson and two ordinary members appointed by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury from a pool of panel members on the recommendation of the chairperson. The current chairperson of the IAT is Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC.