<u>Appointments to Honours and Non-official Justices of the Peace</u> Selection Committee

The Government announced today (December 19) that the Chief Executive has appointed Dr Eliza Chan Ching-har as a non-official member of the Honours and Non-official Justices of the Peace Selection Committee.

The Chief Executive has also reappointed Mrs Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee, Mr Martin Liao Cheung-kong, Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi, Mr Chan Kin-por, Mr Stanley Ng Chau-pei, Mr Tam Yiu-chung, Mrs Laura Cha Shih May-lung, and Mr Chow Chung-kong as non-official members of the Selection Committee.

"All members will serve for a one-year term, from January 1 to December 31, 2024," a Government spokesman said.

Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan, a serving member of the Selection Committee, will retire on December 31, 2023.

"We wish to express our gratitude to Mr Chan for his invaluable advice rendered to the Selection Committee during his term of office," the spokesman said.

The Selection Committee is tasked to consider nominations for various honours as well as for the appointment of Non-official Justices of the Peace (JPs) and make recommendations to the Chief Executive.

Honours and awards are awarded to individuals in recognition of their significant contribution to Hong Kong or dedicated public and community service. The appointment of JPs is governed by the Justices of the Peace Ordinance (Cap. 510). JPs are required to perform certain functions, including visiting custodial institutions or detention centres, to ensure that such facilities are effectively managed and that no inmate is unfairly treated or deprived of his or her rights.

The annual Honours List and the list of new JP appointments are normally published in the Government Gazette on the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (July 1).

The Selection Committee is chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration. Other official members include the Financial Secretary, the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, the Chairman of the Public Service Commission, and the Director of the Chief Executive's Office.

The Selection Committee's full membership for the new term is as follows:

Chairman

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official Members

Mrs Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee Mr Martin Liao Cheung-kong Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi Mr Chan Kin-por

Dr Eliza Chan Ching-har Mr Stanley Ng Chau-pei

Mr Tam Yiu-chung

Mrs Laura Cha Shih May-lung

Mr Chow Chung-kong

Official Members

Financial Secretary Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs Chairman, Public Service Commission Director, Chief Executive's Office