<u>Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations</u> <u>and Assessment Authority</u>

The Government today (August 24) announced the appointment of Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki as the Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA) and the appointment of one new member and the reappointment of three incumbent members to the HKEAA for three years from September 1, 2018, to August 31, 2021. Details of the appointment are as follows:

Chairman

Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki, Executive District Director, AIA International Limited

Members

Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung, Principal, the Hong Kong Taoist Association Ching Chung Secondary School

Ms Monica Cheng Wai-yee, Principal, Holy Trinity College

Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee, Executive Director, Dah Hwa International (Holdings) Limited

Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching, Chairman, HLB Hodgson Impey Cheng

The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said that the HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau and that the distinguished members from the educational and other professional fields on the HKEAA would enrich the expertise of the Authority.

Mr Yeung welcomed Mr Yung and Mr Lee to serve as the Chairman and a member of the HKEAA respectively. He also expressed gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin, and the outgoing member, Mr Johnny Tsang Wing-keung, for their contribution to the work of the Authority.

The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.

Following is the membership list of the Authority with effect from September 1, 2018:

Appointed members:

Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki (Chairman) Dr Mak Chi-keung (Deputy Chairman) Mrs Bonnie Fung Lai Miu-yee Mr James Lam Yat-fung Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung

Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun

Ms Monica Cheng Wai-yee

Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun

Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee

Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching

Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay

Ex-officio members:

Two persons nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her
representative

The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative The Secretary General of the HKEAA