<u>Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations</u> and Assessment Authority Council announced

The Government today (August 30) announced the appointment of Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing as the Chairman and Mr Frederick Poon Siu-chi as the Deputy Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA) Council, as well as the appointment of three new members and reappointment of two incumbent members for a term of three years with effect from September 1, 2024.

Also joining the Council as an ex-officio member will be Ms Kitty Yu Wai-hing, nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee (HUCOM).

The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, said, "A vital partner of the Education Bureau, the HKEAA has been committed to providing top-tier examination and assessment services. I am confident that, under the leadership of its newly appointed Chairman and the distinguished members from the education and other professional fields, the HKEAA will continue to leverage its professional knowledge and experience to further enhance the quality of its services for contribution to Hong Kong's education and social development."

She expressed gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Dr Samuel Yung Wingki, for leading the HKEAA to overcome a number of challenges in recent years, including ensuring the smooth conduct of the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (DSE) Examination during the epidemic and implementing a pilot scheme to set up two DSE examination centres on the Mainland. She also thanked the Deputy Chairman, Mr Yau Siu-hung; member Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee, and ex-officio member Ms Dora Yue Kar-man, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Authority.

The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.

Following is the membership list of the Council with effect from September 1, 2024:

Appointed members: Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing (Chairman)* Mr Frederick Poon Siu-chi (Deputy Chairman) Mr Eric Chan Cheung-wai Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang (reappointment) Dr Cheung Pui-shan* Mr Choy Sai-hung Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung Professor Alan Lam Hiu-fung* Mr Lee Wai-hung (reappointment) Mr Albert Su Yau-on* Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung Ex-officio members: Two persons nominated by the HUCOM The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative The Secretary General of the HKEAA

*new member