<u>Appointments to Harbourfront</u> Commission announced

The Government announced today (June 29) the Chief Executive's appointment of the Chairperson and five members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for a two-year term commencing on July 1, 2018.

Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun, a long-serving HC member, will succeed Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke as the new Chairman. Ms Janice Lai Wai-man and Ms Christina Lee Maisenne will join the HC for the first time as members, while three existing members, Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau, Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit and Mr Ngan Man-yu, have been re-appointed.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

"With Mr Ng's rich experience in the work of harbourfront enhancement and his outstanding leadership demonstrated as the chairman of the Task Force on Kai Tak Harbourfront Development, I am confident that the good work of the HC can be sustained in the years to come. The HC deliberations will also continue to benefit from the diversity brought about by the different backgrounds of new and existing members," Mr Wong said.

"I wish to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Nicholas Brooke, who has been involved in harbourfront-related matters since the establishment of the former Harbourfront Enhancement Committee (HEC) back in 2004, for his able chairmanship since 2010 and his invaluable contribution to the HC over the past years.

"Harbourfront development and enhancement is a core vision shared by both the Government and the HC. The next few years will be challenging for the HC, which is expected to take forward a number of major harbourfront initiatives including those funded by the \$500 million dedicated funding," Mr Wong added.

To provide enhanced support to the HC in taking forward harbourfront initiatives, the Government will, from July 1, 2018, onwards, re-organise the Harbour Unit under the Development Bureau into a dedicated Harbour Office (HO). The HO will be staffed by a multi-disciplinary team comprising different professional and supporting officers.

The HC was established in July 2010 to succeed the HEC to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria harbourfront.

Following is the membership of the HC commencing on July 1, 2018:

```
Chairperson
```

Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun

Vice-Chairperson

Secretary for Development

Non-official Members (Organisations)

Business Environment Council

Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong

Conservancy Association

Friends of the Earth

Hong Kong Institute of Architects

Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects

Hong Kong Institute of Planners

Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors

Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design

Hong Kong Institution of Engineers

Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong

Society for Protection of the Harbour

Non-official Members (Individuals)

Mr Chan Ka-kui

Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Mr Hans Joachim Isler

Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung

Ms Janice Lai Wai-man

Ms Christina Lee Maisenne

Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih

Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit

Mr Ngan Man-yu

Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen

Official Members

Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or her representative

Commissioner for Tourism or his representative

Commissioner for Transport or her representative

Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative

Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative

Director of Marine or her representative

Director of Planning or his representative

Secretary

Principal Assistant Secretary for Development (Harbour)