<u>Appointments to Green Tech Fund</u> Assessment Committee announced

The Government today (December 31) announced the appointments of the following 12 members to the Green Tech Fund Assessment Committee (GTFAC) for a two-year term starting on January 1, 2021.

Professor Chan Chak-keung
Dr Lawrence Cheung
Ms Natalie Chung
Ms Ada Fung
Professor Ho Kin-chung
Ms Kong Wing-man
Professor Edward Ng
Professor Poon Chi-sun
Ms Ellie Tang
Mr Albert Wong
Professor Jonathan Wong
Dr William Yu

"The GTFAC, chaired by the Director of Environmental Protection, comprises members from different sectors including academia, the industry, green groups and the relevant government departments. It is responsible for assessing applications for the Green Tech Fund (GTF) and monitoring the progress of funded projects. We are grateful to the members for their agreement to serve on the GTFAC to work with the Government in promoting the development of low-carbon and green technologies," a spokesman for the Environmental Protection Department said.

The GTF, established with a \$200 million government allocation, aims to provide better and more focused funding support to research and development projects which can help Hong Kong decarbonise and enhance environmental protection. This will give new impetus to deep decarbonisation and the development of green technologies, and can help the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region pursue the target of striving to achieve carbon neutrality before 2050, as announced in this year's Policy Address. The GTF is accepting the first round of applications on or before February 22, 2021.