Appointments to Family Council

The Government announced today (March 31) the appointment of Ms Melissa Kaye Pang as the Chairman of the Family Council, as well as the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of 11 members to the Council for a term of two years with effect from April 1, 2021.

Ms Pang is a practising solicitor and is currently the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong. She has a strong commitment and dedication to serving the community. She is an incumbent member of various advisory bodies, including the Hong Kong Housing Authority, the Operations Review Committee of the Independent Commission Against Corruption, and the Standing Committee on Disciplined Services Salaries and Conditions of Service, etc. Ms Pang was also the Chairman of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education from April 2015 to March 2021.

The Home Affairs Bureau (HAB) thanked the outgoing Chairman, Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei, for his efforts and contribution in promoting the work of the Council. Professor Shek first served as a member of the Council from December 2007 to March 2013, before assuming the Council's chairmanship since April 2013. Under Professor Shek's leadership, the Council has strengthened its work to promote family core values through organising various programmes and activities. He also tendered invaluable advice to the Government on family-related policies and strategies.

The HAB also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members for their dedication and contribution to the work of the Council during their terms of service.

New members appointed are Mr Arnold Chan Kwan-yeung, Professor Eric Chen Yu-hai, Mr Warren Luk Hua and Mr Jeremy Young Chit-on. Re-appointed members are Ms May Chan Suk-mei, Ms Cheung Lai-chu, Ms Lavender Cheung Wang-yim, Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin, Dr Lam Chi-yan, Professor Albert Lee, Ms Cindy Pun Siufung, Dr Margaret Wong Fung-yee, Mrs Cecilia Wong Ng Kit-wah, Mr Clement Woo Kin-man and Ms Amarantha Yip Yun-wan.

The official members of the Council include the Secretary for Home Affairs, the Secretary for Labour and Welfare, the Secretary for Education and the Head of the Policy Innovation and Co-ordination Office, or their representatives.

Since its establishment in 2007, the Council has served as a cross-sector and cross-bureau platform for examining family-related policies and promoting a culture of loving families in the community. Membership of the Council comprises official members, non-official members from various backgrounds, as well as the Chairpersons of the Elderly Commission and the Women's Commission, and the Vice-Chairperson of the Youth Development Commission as ex-officio members.