Appointments to Expert Committee on Food Safety

The Government today (September 14) announced the appointment of Professor Chen Zhenyu and Professor Wang Wenxiong as Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Expert Committee on Food Safety respectively, as well as the appointment of six new members and re-appointment of 10 incumbent members, for a term of two years with effect from September 15, 2018.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, said that food safety was one of the priorities of the Government, and that she looked to the Expert Committee for advice to the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (DFEH) on matters relating to food safety.

Professor Chan thanked the outgoing Chairman, Professor Ma Ching-yung, and seven outgoing members, namely Professor Chen Junshi, Ms Sylvia Chung Wai-man, Professor Vincent Lee Hon-leung, Mr Anthony Lock Kwok-on, Professor Chris Wong Kong-chu, Ms Jaime Wong Shuk-fong and Ms Rosa Wong Wan-ming, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Expert Committee in the past.

The Expert Committee advises the DFEH on existing or new food safety operational strategies and measures to protect public health. It also advises the DFEH on standards or guidelines relating to food safety and food composition having regard to international practices, trends and developments.

Following is the full membership of the Expert Committee with effect from September 15, 2018:

Chairman

Professor Chen Zhenyu

Vice-Chairman

Professor Wang Wenxiong

Local members

Professor Cai Zongwei

Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin

Dr Olivia Chan Sinn-kay

Mr Cheng Kit-man

Dr Keith Kwok Wing-yin

Mr Sunny Lee Wai-kwong

Dr June Leung Yue-yan

Dr Wendy Ma Lynn

Dr Jennifer Wan Man-fan

Dr Wong Ka-hing Dr Howard Wong Kai-hay Dr Raymond Wong Siu-ming

Members from outside Hong Kong

Dr Chew Siang Thai Professor Steve Hathaway Professor Qiao Xiongwu Professor Wu Yongning

Ex-officio members

Representative of the Food and Health Bureau Representative of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department Representative of the Department of Health