<u>Appointments to Expert Committee on</u> <u>Food Safety</u>

The Government today (September 15) announced the appointment of four new members and re-appointment of 12 incumbent members, including the incumbent Chairman and Vice-Chairman, to the Expert Committee on Food Safety for a term of two years with effect from September 15, 2020.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, said that food safety is one of the priorities of the Government, and it is also an important livelihood issue. She looks to the Expert Committee for advice to the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (DFEH) on matters relating to food safety.

Professor Chan thanked the five outgoing members, namely Dr Chew Siang Thai, Professor Steve Hathaway, Dr Keith Kwok Wing-yin, Mr Sunny Lee Waikwong and Dr Raymond Wong Siu-ming, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Expert Committee in the past.

The Expert Committee advises the DFEH on existing or new food safety operational strategies and measures to protect public health. It also advises the DFEH on standards or guidelines relating to food safety and food composition having regard to international practices, trends and developments.

Following is the full membership of the Expert Committee with effect from September 15, 2020:

Chairman

Professor Chen Zhenyu

Vice-Chairman

Professor Wang Wenxiong

Local members

Professor Cai Zongwei Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin Dr Olivia Chan Sinn-kay Mr Cheng Kit-man Dr Wendy Ma Lynn Professor Shelly Tse Lap-ah Dr Tse Man-li Dr Jennifer Wan Man-fan Dr Wong Ka-hing Dr Howard Wong Kai-hay Members from outside Hong Kong

Dr Scott Crerar Professor Andreas Hensel Professor Qiao Xiongwu Professor Wu Yongning

Ex-officio members

Representative of the Food and Health Bureau Representative of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department Representative of the Department of Health