## <u>Appointments to Environmental Campaign</u> <u>Committee announced</u>

The Government today (December 24) announced that Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung has been appointed as Chairman of the Environmental Campaign Committee (ECC) for two years from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2022.

Three new members are appointed to the ECC. They are Ms Sarah Mui Szewa, Ms Tansy Lau-Tom and Ms Samathy Woo.

The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, said, "I am pleased to appoint Mr Wong to be the Chairman of the ECC and I warmly welcome the three new members. I am looking forward to the ECC's promotion of environmental protection and mobilisation of the public to practise lowcarbon living in different sectors of the community under the leadership of Mr Wong.

"I would like to thank in particular the outgoing Chairman, Professor Joseph Sung Jao-yiu, for his full dedication to leading the ECC to enhance the environmental awareness of the public in the past two years, especially in promoting eco-anti-pandemic measures as well as taking care of one's health and reducing waste at source at the same time. In addition, I would also like to thank the outgoing members, namely Ms Nancy Lam Chung-yan, Dr Calvin Lee Kwan and Dr Albert Wong for their valuable advice and contributions to the ECC during their appointment period."

The ECC has been set up since 1990 to promote public awareness of environmental issues and encourage the public to contribute actively towards a better environment. It also advises the Government on publicity and educational programmes related to the environment with a view to contributing to the Government's formulation of relevant policy initiatives and measures.

The appointments, published in the Gazette today, will be effective from January 1, 2021.

The full membership of the new term of the ECC is as follows:

Chairman: Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung

Vice Chairman: Mr Hui Yung-chung\*

Non-official Members: Mr Tommy Chan Ka-keung\* Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung\* Ms Vivien Cheng Yu-wai\* Ms Quince Chong Wai-yan\* Mr Henry Ho Chi-fai\* Mr Tony Ip Chung-man\* Mr Edmond Leung\* Ms Jenny Li Chun-chau\* Mr Norris Ng Hin-lung\* Dr Ng Tsz-yan\* Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin\* Ms Ellie Tang\* Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung\* Mr Henry Yau Yik-chung\* Ms Sarah Mui Sze-wa Mrs Tansy Lau-Tom Ms Samathy Woo

Ex-officio Members: Secretary for Education# Secretary for Home Affairs# Director of Environmental Protection# Director of Information Services#

\* Serving members
# Or his/her representative