<u>Appointments to Energy Advisory</u> Committee announced

The Government today (July 15) announced that Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah has been reappointed as the Chairman of the Energy Advisory Committee, and 19 community figures appointed as members. The appointments are for a term of two years with effect from today and will be published in the Gazette on July 17.

The Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing, thanked the Chairman and members for their valuable contributions to the work of the Committee. "Under the sterling leadership of Mr Kwok, the Committee has tendered invaluable advice to the Government on important energy matters, in particular as we chart our way forward in deepening the combat against climate change. Looking ahead, we will continue to work closely with the Committee on various energy policy matters, including the promotion of renewable energy as well as energy efficiency and conservation to tie in with Hong Kong's transition towards being a low-carbon society," he said.

Mr Wong also expressed his gratitude to the two retiring members, Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan and Ms Vena Cheng Wei-yan, for their support and service in the past six years, and welcomed two new members to the Committee, namely Ms Hilda Lam and Ms Elsa Yuen.

The Committee advises the Government on energy policy, including policy matters concerning energy supply and demand, energy conservation and efficiency, and other related matters.

The full membership of the Committee is as follows:

- * Mr Jimmy Kwok Chun-wah (Chairman)
- * Professor Andrew Chan Chi-fai
- * Ms Natalie Chan
- * Dr Vincent Cheng Sai-yau
- * Mr Cheung Chi-wah
- * Professor Fung Tung
- * Ms Linda Ho Wai-ping
- * Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen

Ms Hilda Lam

- * Mr James Lam Yat-fung
- * Mr Ellis Lau Ying-tung
- * Ms Ivy Lee Siu-wing
- * Ms Rerina Or Siu-ching
- * Ms Christina Tang Pik-han
- * Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun
- * Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
- * Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
- * Mr Thomas Jefferson Wu
- * Mr Ryan Yeung Shun-cheung

Ms Elsa Yuen

- * Permanent Secretary for the Environment/Director of Environmental Protection or representative
- * Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services or representative
- * Serving members