## **Appointments to Elderly Commission**

The Government announced today (July 19) the appointment of a new member and the re-appointment of 14 incumbent members to the Elderly Commission. All the appointments will take effect from July 30, 2019, for a term of two years.

The new member is Miss Yu Chui-yee. She is a representative of the Hong Kong Wheelchair Fencing Team, and is now a member of the Equal Opportunities Commission and the Sports Commission.

Fourteen incumbent members, namely Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit, Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching, Mr Cheung Leong, Mr Chua Hoi-wai, Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee, Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan, Ms Grace Li Fai, Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai, Dr Pang Fei-chau, Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang, Dr Doris Tse Man-wah, Mr Wong Kitloong, Mr Kenneth Wong Tai-lun and Dr Yeung Ka-ching, have been re-appointed.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the above appointments. He said, "Given the rapidly ageing population, the Elderly Commission plays an increasingly important role in advising the Government on the policies and initiatives relating to the elderly's wellbeing.

"As in the past, we will fully consider the valuable advice of the Elderly Commission in devising policies for our elderly people."

Dr Law also thanked the outgoing member, Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung, for his sterling contributions to the Elderly Commission.

The Elderly Commission was established in 1997. Its main task is to provide advice to the Government in the formulation of a comprehensive policy in caring for elderly persons.

The membership list of the Elderly Commission with effect from July 30, 2019, is as follows:

## <u>Chairman</u>

Dr Lam Ching-choi

Non-official members Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching Mr Cheung Leong Mr Chua Hoi-wai Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan Ms Grace Li Fai Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun

Dr Pang Fei-chau
Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang
Dr Doris Tse Man-wah
Mr Wong Kit-loong
Mr Kenneth Wong Tai-lun
Dr Yeung Ka-ching
Miss Yu Chui-yee

## Official members

Secretary for Food and Health or representative Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative Secretary for Transport and Housing/Director of Housing or representative Director of Health or representative Director of Social Welfare or representative Chief Executive, Hospital Authority or representative