<u>Appointments to Education Commission</u> <u>announced</u>

The Government today (June 28) announced the re-appointment of three serving members and the appointment of two new members to the Education Commission (EC).

The three re-appointed serving members are Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang, Mr Joseph Luc Ngai and Mr Wong Kam-leung. The newly appointed members are Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming and Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok. Both of them have strong expertise in technology and entrepreneurship.

The five members have been appointed in their personal capacity. Their terms of membership will be effective from July 1, 2021, except that of Mr Chia, which will be effective from September 1, 2021. Their terms will all end on December 31, 2022.

A spokesman for the Education Bureau said, "Given their rich experience in education and other relevant sectors, we are confident that the five members will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC."

The EC membership list with effect from July 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li Mei-sheung Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Tony Tai Chark-tong

Non-official members

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin Dr Fung Wai-wah Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang Mr Lau Chun-hung Dr Leung Wing-hung Mr Joseph Luc Ngai Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming Ms Vu Im-fan Mr Wong Kam-leung Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak