<u>Appointments to Disaster Relief Fund</u> <u>Advisory Committee</u>

The Government announced today (December 22) that the Chief Executive has appointed Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang and re-appointed Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi as members of the Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee for two years starting from January 1, 2021. Moreover, Mr Lau Kwok-fan has been nominated by the Legislative Council (LegCo) and appointed by the Chief Executive as a member of the Committee. Mr Lau's tenure in the Committee took effect on December 16, 2020, and is concurrent with his term of office in the current-term LegCo.

"We would like to express our gratitude to Dr Tik Chi-yuen, who is retiring from the Committee, for his valuable contribution to the work of the Committee in the past six years," a Government spokesman said.

Established in 1993, the Disaster Relief Fund provides a ready mechanism for Hong Kong to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The Committee is tasked to advise on disbursement from the Disaster Relief Fund and monitor the use of grants by the recipients.

The membership of the Committee from January 1, 2021, is as follows:

Chairman:

Chief Secretary for Administration (ex-officio)

Members:

Mr Ip Kwok-him

Dr Lam Ching-choi

Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung

Mr Lau Kwok-fan

Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi

Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or representative (exofficio)

Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (ex-officio)