## <u>Appointments to Disaster Relief Fund</u> <u>Advisory Committee</u>

The Government announced today (August 2) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Chan Hak-kan and re-appointed Dr Lam Ching-choi as members of the Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee (the Committee). Their term of office in the Committee took effect from yesterday (August 1) and will last until June 30, 2024.

"We would like to express our gratitude to Mr Ip Kwok-him, the retiring member, for his valuable contribution to the work of the Committee in the past few years," a Government spokesman said.

Established in 1993, the Disaster Relief Fund provides a ready mechanism for Hong Kong to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The Committee is tasked to advise on disbursement from the Disaster Relief Fund and monitor the use of grants by the recipients.

The current membership list of the Committee is as follows:

Chairman: Chief Secretary for Administration (ex-officio)

Members: Dr Lam Ching-choi Mr Chan Hak-kan Ms Lam So-wai Mr Edmund Wong Chun-sek Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or representative (exofficio) Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (ex-officio)