## <u>Appointments to Disaster Relief Fund</u> <u>Advisory Committee</u>

The Government announced today (April 11) that Ms Lam So-wai and Mr Edmund Wong Chun-sek have been nominated by the Legislative Council (LegCo) and appointed by the Chief Executive as members of the Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee. Their tenure in the Committee took effect on March 28, 2022, and is concurrent with their term of office in the current-term LegCo.

"We would like to express our gratitude to Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung and Mr Lau Kwok-fan, the retired members, for their valuable contribution to the work of the Committee in the past few years," a Government spokesman said.

Established in 1993, the Disaster Relief Fund provides a ready mechanism for Hong Kong to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The Committee is tasked to advise on disbursement from the Disaster Relief Fund and monitor the use of grants by the recipients.

The current membership list of the Committee is as follows:

## Chairman:

Chief Secretary for Administration (ex-officio)

## Members:

Mr Ip Kwok-him

Dr Lam Ching-choi

Ms Lam So-wai

Mr Wong Chun-sek

Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi

Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang

Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or representative (exofficio)

Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (ex-officio)