## <u>Appointments to Country and Marine</u> Parks Board

The Government today (August 30) announced the appointments to the new term of the Country and Marine Parks Board (CMPB) for a period of two years with effect from September 1, 2019.

A spokesman of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) said, "We thanked the Chairman and members of the new term of the CMPB for accepting this important task. We are confident that the CMPB will continue to provide the Government with constructive views on matters related to the establishment and management of the country parks and marine parks, with a view to encouraging more members of the public to get close to nature and understand the importance of nature conservation."

The AFCD expressed gratitude for the valuable contributions to the CMPB of the outgoing Chairman, Mr Tang King-shing, as well as members Mr Chan Kachun, Ms Suzanne M Gendron, Mr Steven Ho Chun-yin, Mr Billy Lam Chung-lun, Mr Eric Lee Chung-ming, Ms Katherine Ma Miu-wah, Dr Man Chi-sum, Mr Joseph Mo Ka-hung and Ms So Ka-man during their tenure.

In accordance with the Country Parks Ordinance (Cap 208) and the Marine Parks Ordinance (Cap 476), the CMPB shall consider and advise the Country and Marine Parks Authority on the policy and programmes in respect of country parks and special areas, as well as marine parks and marine reserves.

The following members will serve in the new term:

## Non-official members

Mr Ling Kar-kan (Chairman)\* Mr Chan Ka-kui Ms Beatrice Chan Po-kam Mr Cheung Siu-keung\* Dr Lewis Cheung Ting-on\* Dr Apple Chui Pui-yi\* Professor He Shen-iing Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen\* Ms Judy Kiu Kin-yan Dr David Lau Tai-wai Dr Amelia Lee Nam-yuk Mr Charles Lee Yee-keung Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee Professor Ng Sai-leung Mr Ken So Kwok-yin Dr Tang Chin-cheung\* Ms Nicole Wong Pik-yan Ms Yip Yan-yan\*

## Mr Yu Hon-kwan\*

\* New appointee

## Official members

- Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation (Ex-officio)
- Deputy Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation with Assistant Director (Country and Marine Parks) as alternate member
- Director of Environmental Protection with Assistant Director (Nature Conservation) as alternate member
- Director of Home Affairs with Deputy Director (1) or Assistant Director (2) as alternate member
- Director of Lands with Assistant Director (Specialist 2) as alternate member
- Director of Leisure and Cultural Services with Assistant Director (Leisure Services) 3 as alternate member
- Director of Marine with Assistant Director (Port Control) as alternate member
- Director of Planning with Assistant Director (New Territories) as alternate member
- Director of Water Supplies with Assistant Director (Development) as alternate member