<u>Appointments to Council on Human</u> <u>Reproductive Technology</u>

The Government today (April 10) announced the appointment of seven new members and re-appointment of two serving members to the Council on Human Reproductive Technology with effect from April 11, 2019, for a term of three years.

Re-appointed members

Dr Matthew Ng (Chairperson) Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee

Newly appointed members

Ms Chan Ka-wai Professor Cecilia Cheng Dr Cheung Tak-hong Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming Ms Wu Shuk-yin Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai

Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate the conduct of reproductive technology including embryo research in Hong Kong through a licensing system and the publication of a Code of Practice for the relevant professions.

Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, a scholar in philosophy or ethics, a psychologist, a sociologist, local community leaders and government representatives.

The membership list of the Council with effect from April 11, 2019, is as follows:

Chairperson

Dr Matthew Ng

Deputy Chairperson

Ms Kam Yim-mui

Members

Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip

Mr Chan How-chi Ms Chan Ka-wai Professor Cecilia Cheng Dr Cheung Tak-hong Professor Cheung Yuet-wah Dr Chow Kam-ming Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen Ms Ho Suet-chun Professor Ma Lai-chong Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming Reverend Dr Andrew Ng Wai-man Dr Tang Kwok-keung Dr Wong Man-sau Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee Ms Wu Shuk-yin Ms Adelaide Yu Hoi-man Dr Yu Kai-man Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai Principal Assistant Secretary, Food and Health Bureau Assistant Director, Department of Health Assistant Director, Home Affairs Department Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department