## <u>Appointments to Council on Human</u> <u>Reproductive Technology gazetted</u>

The Government published in the Gazette today (May 10) the appointments of six new members and reappointments of four serving members to the Council on Human Reproductive Technology.

The newly appointed members are Dr Go Wing-wa, Dr Charas Ong Yeu-theng, Reverend Leung Yuen-yiu, Reverend Ng Sui-lung, Professor Dennis Wong Singwing and Mr Jeffrey Lo Cheuk-fei. The reappointed serving members are Dr Leung Kwok-yin, Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan, Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit and Ms Vanessa Wan Lai-shan.

The appointments of Dr Go Wing-wa, Dr Charas Ong Yeu-theng, Reverend Leung Yuen-yiu, Reverend Ng Sui-lung, Mr Jeffrey Lo Cheuk-fei, Dr Leung Kwokyin, Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan, Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit and Ms Vanessa Wan Laishan took effect from April 11, 2024, whereas that of Professor Dennis Wong Sing-wing took effect from May 2, 2024. The aforementioned members were all appointed for a three-year tenure.

The Secretary for Health, Professor Lo Chung-mau, welcomed the new members to the Council. He also expressed gratitude to Dr Yu Kai-man, Dr Chow Kam-ming, Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip, Professor Kwan Kai-man and Professor Cheung Yuet-wah for having served in the Council and offered invaluable contributions and unfailing support to the Council during their terms of office.

Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate reproductive technology activities including regulating the provision of reproductive technology procedures and embryo research, etc in Hong Kong through a licensing system, and formulate the Code of Practice for the relevant sectors.

Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, religious personnel or scholars in theology/philosophy/ethics, psychiatrists or psychologists, sociologists, local community leaders and government representatives.

The membership list of the Council with effect from May 2, 2024, is as follows:

Chairperson

Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen

Deputy Chairperson

Professor Wong Man-sau

\_ \_

## Members

Dr Cheung Tak-hong Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng Dr Go Wing-wa Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit Dr May Lam Mei-ling Dr Leung Kwok-yin Reverend Leung Yuen-yiu Mr Jeffrey Lo Cheuk-fei Mr Ng Chak-hang Reverend Ng Sui-lung Ms Ng Wing-wing Dr Charas Ong Yeu-theng Ms Shum Hin-han Ms Vanessa Wan Lai-shan Professor Kelvin Wang Man-ping Professor Dennis Wong Sing-wing Ms Wu Shuk-yin Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai Principal Assistant Secretary, Health Bureau Assistant Director, Department of Health Assistant Director, Home Affairs Department Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department