<u>Appointments to Council on Human</u> <u>Reproductive Technology</u>

The Government announced today (April 8) the appointment of Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen as the Chairperson of the Council on Human Reproductive Technology, as well as the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of four serving members to the Council, with effect from April 11, 2022, for a term of three years.

The newly appointed members are Dr May Lam Mei-ling, Ms Lee Lai-lan, Mr Ng Chak-hang and Ms Shum Hin-han. The re-appointed serving members are Dr Cheung Tak-hong, Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng, Ms Wu Shuk-yin and Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai.

The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, welcomed the new Chairperson and members to the Council. She also expressed gratitude to the outgoing Chairperson, Dr Matthew Ng, and members Ms Chan Ka-wai, Professor Cecilia Cheng, Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee and Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming, for their invaluable contributions and unfailing support to the Council during their terms of office.

Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate the conduct of reproductive technology including embryo research in Hong Kong through a licensing system and the publication of a Code of Practice for the relevant professions.

Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, a scholar in philosophy or ethics, a psychologist, a sociologist, local community leaders and government representatives.

The membership list of the Council with effect from April 11, 2022, is as follows:

Chairperson

Professor Raymond Liang Hin-suen

Deputy Chairperson

Ms Kam Yim-mui

Members

Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip

Mr Chan How-chi

Dr Cheung Tak-hong

Professor Cheung Yuet-wah

Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan

Dr Chow Kam-ming

Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng

Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen

Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit

Mr Hui Ching-on

Professor Kwan Kai-man

Dr May Lam Mei-ling

Ms Lee Lai-lan

Dr Leung Kwok-yin

Mr Ng Chak-hang

Ms Shum Hin-han

Ms Vanessa Wan Lai-shan

Ms Wu Shuk-yin

Dr Yu Kai-man

Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai

Principal Assistant Secretary, Food and Health Bureau

Assistant Director, Department of Health

Assistant Director, Home Affairs Department

Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department