## <u>Appointments to Council on Human</u> <u>Reproductive Technology</u>

The Government announced today (April 9) the appointment of five new members and the re-appointment of four serving members to the Council on Human Reproductive Technology with effect from April 11, 2021, for a term of three years.

Re-appointed members

Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip Professor Cheung Yuet-wah Dr Chow Kam-ming Dr Yu Kai-man

Newly appointed members

Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit Professor Kwan Kai-man Dr Leung Kwok-yin Ms Vanessa Wan Lai-shan

Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate the conduct of reproductive technology including embryo research in Hong Kong through a licensing system and the publication of a Code of Practice for the relevant professions.

Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, a scholar in philosophy or ethics, a psychologist, a sociologist, local community leaders and government representatives.

The membership list of the Council with effect from April 11, 2021, is as follows:

Chairperson

Dr Matthew Ng

Deputy Chairperson

Ms Kam Yim-mui

Members

Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip

Mr Chan How-chi

Ms Chan Ka-wai

Professor Cecilia Cheng

Dr Cheung Tak-hong

Professor Cheung Yuet-wah

Ms Eva Choi Doi-kwan

Dr Chow Kam-ming

Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng

Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen

Mr Frederick Hui Cheuk-kit

Mr Hui Ching-on

Professor Kwan Kai-man

Dr Leung Kwok-yin

Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming

Ms Vanessa Wan Lai-shan

Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee

Ms Wu Shuk-yin

Dr Yu Kai-man

Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai

Principal Assistant Secretary, Food and Health Bureau

Assistant Director, Department of Health

Assistant Director, Home Affairs Department

Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department