## <u>Appointments to Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony</u>

The Secretary for Home Affairs has appointed five new members to the Committee on the Promotion of Racial Harmony (CPRH), a Government spokesman announced today (May 31). Four incumbent members have also been reappointed to the Committee in the same appointment exercise. Their term of office will run from June 1, 2019 to May 31, 2021.

The following is a list of the non-official members of the CPRH:

## New members:

Ms Vivian Kong Man-wai Ms Lamia Sreya Rahman\* Ms Yvonne Tsui Hang-on Mr Wong Ka-chun\* Mr Matthew Wong Man-ho

\* Appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth

## Reappointed incumbent members:

Mr Mohamed Ibramsa Sikkander Batcha Ms Ping Somporn Bevan Dr Theresa Cunanan Mrs Poonam Vijayprakash Mehta

## Other incumbent members:

Ms Mimi Cheung Yee-may Mr Vijay Harilela Mr Derek Hung Chiu-wah Mr Akil Khan Ms Rigam Rai

The CPRH is a non-statutory advisory body set up to advise the Government on matters relating to fostering racial harmony in the community and to enhancing mutual understanding among people of different ethnic origins. Chaired by the Deputy Director of Home Affairs, the Committee includes representatives from the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Labour Department and the Information Services Department. The Race Relations Unit of the Home Affairs Department provides secretariat support to the Committee.