<u>Appointments to Committee on Self-</u> <u>financing Post-secondary Education</u>

The Government today (December 27) announced the appointment of Dr Alex Chan Siu-kun as the Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education (CSPE), the appointment of 10 new members including two new members recruited under the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth (MSSY), and the reappointment of five incumbent members. The appointments are for a term until October 31, 2025.

The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, said, "Dr Chan previously served as the Chairman of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications. He has a deep understanding of the self-financing post-secondary education sector. I believe that, under his capable leadership and with the participation of local and non-local members from the post-secondary education and other professional sectors, the CSPE will continue to discharge its functions to the fullest and proactively support the parallel development of the self-financing and publicly-funded post-secondary education sectors."

Dr Choi also expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung. She said, "Professor Cheung had served as the Chairman of the CSPE since 2017, and concurrently chaired the Task Force on Review of Self-financing Post-secondary Education till 2018. Under his exemplary leadership, the CSPE tendered invaluable advice to the Education Bureau on the quality enhancement, strategic co-ordination and targeted support of the self-financing post-secondary education sector, making significant contributions to facilitating the self-financing sector in addressing the manpower needs of different sectors."

Dr Choi also thanked the outgoing members, Professor Chetwyn Chan Chehin, Mr Francis Cheng Cho-ying, Professor Adrian Dixon, Professor Mark Kamlet, Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo, Professor William Lee Keng-mun, Mrs Ruth Lee Shek Yuk-yu, Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin, Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui and Ms Winnie Yeung Cheung-wah, for their valuable contributions during their tenure.

The membership of the new term of the CSPE is as follows:

Chairman Dr Alex Chan Siu-kun

Members

Mrs Cindy Chow Lok Mei-ki^
Professor Ronald Chung Chi-kit@
Ms Florence Chung Wai-yee^
Ms Jacqueline Alee Leung@
Ms Carrie Leung Ka-lai@
Ms Lorraine Lo Chun-yu#

Ms Bubble Lui Hiu-lam#
Professor Lui Yu-hon
Professor Pong Ting-chuen@
Professor Michael Spence^*
Professor Julia Tao Lai Po-wah@
Professor Wong Kwok-yin^
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han^
Ms Wong Siu-ling^
Mr Andrew Young Meng-cheung^
Professor Yuen Kwok-kit^
Chairman of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications or his representative
Chairman of the University Grants Committee or his representative
Deputy Secretary for Education (1)

- ^ New members
- @ Reappointed members
- # New members recruited under the MSSY
- * Non-local member

The CSPE was established in April 2012 to provide strategic and policy advice to the Government on measures to promote, facilitate and co-ordinate the development of the self-financing post-secondary education sector in terms of scope of operation, quality and governance.

Furthermore, the Government provides more opportunities for young people to participate in policy discussion through the MSSY. The newly appointed members recruited under the MSSY are Ms Lorraine Lo Chun-yu and Ms Bubble Lui Hiu-lam.