## Appointments to Committee on Financial Assistance for Family Members of those who Sacrifice their Lives to Save Others announced

The Government today (February 15) announced the appointment of three new members and the re-appointment of one incumbent member to the Committee on Financial Assistance for Family Members of those who Sacrifice their Lives to Save Others for a term of two years with effect from today.

The three new members are Mr Law King-shing, Ms May Wong May-kwan and Miss Edna Chow On-lai.

Mr Law King-shing is the Chairman of the Kwai Tsing District Council and currently serves in the Municipal Services Appeals Board.

Ms May Wong May-kwan is the Executive Director of Hans Andersen Club and has served in the Advisory Committee of the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged.

Miss Edna Chow On-lai is the Regional Training and Development Manager of SMCP Asia Limited and currently serves in the Committee on Services for Youth at Risk.

Incumbent member Ms Liu Po-chu has been re-appointed. She is a professional accountant and currently serves in the Occupational Deafness Compensation Board.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments and said he looked forward to working closely with members of the Committee in the new term. He also thanked the three outgoing members, Mr Suen Kai-cheong, Mr Weber Lo Wai-pak and Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling, for their contribution to the work of the Committee during their term of appointment.

The Committee considers and approves applications under the Financial Assistance Scheme to Family Members of those who Sacrifice their Lives to Save Others. The Scheme represents the Government's recognition of the brave acts and sacrifice undertaken by these individuals and seeks to alleviate the financial hardship that their family members may face as a consequence of their death.

The membership list of the Committee with effect from today is as follows:

Chairman:

Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Members: Miss Edna Chow On-lai Mr Law King-shing Ms Liu Po-chu Ms May Wong May-kwan