Appointments to Commission on Children

The Government today (May 15) announced the re-appointment of 21 incumbent non-official members to the Commission on Children for a term of two years with effect from June 1, 2020.

The Chief Secretary for Administration and Chairperson of the Commission, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, said, "Coming from different sectors, the re-appointed members include experts and stakeholders on children's growth and development who have rich experience in their professions and community services. I hope that they will continue to offer valuable advice on the work of the Commission and join forces with the Government in the promotion of children's growth and development in Hong Kong."

The Commission on Children, chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, is a high-level committee established in 2018 with wide participation of senior officials from various policy bureaux/departments as well as representatives from different sectors of the community. Apart from focusing on addressing children's issues as they grow up, the Commission monitors the progress of bureaux/departments in taking forward various children-related policy initiatives and their effectiveness.

The membership list of the Commission with effect from June 1, 2020, is as follows:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Vice-chairperson

Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Non-official Members

Mr Peter Au Yeung Wai-hong

Miss Bakar Fariha Salma Deiya

Miss Cheng Hui-kiu

Ms Janus Cheng

Mr Chow Wai-chung

Ms Kathy Chung Lai-kam

Mr Dennis Ho Chi-kuen

Dr Patrick Ip

Dr Sanly Kam Shau-wan

Mr Edwin Lee

Mrs Priscilla Lui Tsang Sun-kai

Ms Shalini Mahtani

Mr Kenny Ng Kwan-lim

Dr Halina Poon Suk-han
Ms Susan So Suk-yin
Ms Michelle Tam Chi-yun
Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man
Mr Gary Wong Chi-him
Dr Lilian Wong Hiu-lei
Ms Kathy Wong Kin-ho
Dr Wong Kwai-yau

Ex-officio Members

Secretary for Education
Secretary for Food and Health
Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs
Director of Social Welfare
Director of Health
Director of Home Affairs
Chairperson of Family Council
Chairperson of Women's Commission