<u>Appointments to Board of Urban Renewal</u> Fund

The Development Bureau (DEVB) today (August 14) announced the appointment of five persons, nominated by the DEVB, as Chairman/directors of the Board of the Urban Renewal Fund (URF Board). The URF is an independent company limited by guarantee incorporated to manage the Urban Renewal Trust Fund.

In accordance with the Articles of Association of the URF, the Secretary for Development nominated Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah for appointment as Chairman of the URF Board, and nominated Ms Grace Chan Man-yee, Dr Fok Yeung-yeung, Ms Nadine Eden Maurellet and Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung for appointment as directors of the URF Board. The term is three years from August 15, 2024. The above nominees have all been appointed in accordance with the Articles of Association of the URF.

"I am very pleased that Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah will serve as Chairman of the URF Board. Mr Ma is a veteran registered social worker with extensive experiences in social services. Having served as a director of the URF Board since August 2020, he has been actively involved in URF's work and provided invaluable advice. I am confident that under the leadership of Mr Ma, the URF Board will continue to make the best use of the Urban Renewal Trust Fund to achieve its objectives," the Secretary for Development, Ms Bernadette Linn, said.

Ms Linn also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Professor Steven Ngai Sekyum. She said, "Professor Ngai has been the Board Chairman since August 2017 and spared no effort in promoting the work of the URF. Under the excellent leadership of Professor Ngai, the URF has not only been commissioning social service teams to provide suitable support to the owners and tenants affected by the redevelopment projects of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), but also promoting urban renewal heritage preservation and supporting projects initiated by local residents and community organisations in response to the needs and characteristics of the districts concerned through a district revitalisation funding scheme, with a view to improving residents' living quality and fostering their sense of belonging to the community. I sincerely thank Professor Ngai for his invaluable contributions to the work of the URF."

The membership of the URF Board with effect from August 15, 2024, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah

Directors

Ms Fanny Ang Bing-hun
Ms Grace Chan Man-yee
Ms Kitty Chau Shuk-king
Dr Fok Yeung-yeung
Mr Sunny Ho Lap-kee
Ms Janice Lai Wai-man
Mr Dominic Lam Kwong-ki
Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung
Mr David Lui Yin-tat
Ms Nadine Eden Maurellet
Mr Steven Pun Chi-ho
Ms Renee So Yi-ha
Mr Wai Chi-sing

Secretary

Mr Wong Wai-kit

Ms Erica Chui Cheuk-wah

The URF, incorporated as a company limited by guarantee on August 15, 2011, was set up pursuant to section 6(2)(s) of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance to act as the trustee and settlor of the Trust Fund. The Trust Fund, with funding support from the URA, provides an independent funding source to support the operation of the social service teams that render assistance to the affected owners and tenants of the urban redevelopment projects implemented by the URA. The Trust Fund also supports planning and related studies by the District Urban Renewal Forum as well as initiatives related to heritage preservation and district revitalisation proposed by non-governmental organisations and other stakeholders in the overall context of urban renewal. Pursuant to the Articles of Association of the URF, the directors of the URF Board shall be nominated by the Secretary for Development and appointed by the URF. The establishment of the Trust Fund was one of the major initiatives under the Urban Renewal Strategy promulgated by the Government in February 2011.