<u>Appointments to board of Social Care</u> Wales announced

Social Care Wales will come into effect from 3 April 2017 and will replace the existing Care Council for Wales. This change is being made as part of the Regulation and Inspection of Social Care (Wales) Act 2016.

Minister for Social Services and Public Health, Rebecca Evans has today announced that the board will be chaired by Arwel Ellis Owen who is the currently the Chair of the Care Council for Wales board.

The other members will be: Abigail Harris, Aled Roberts, Carl Cooper, Damian Bridgeman, Donna Hutton, Emma Britton, Grace Quantock, Joanne Kember, Jane Moore, Kate Hawkins, Peter Max, Rhian Watcyn Jones, and Simon Burch.

Members will serve for a period of four years, from 3 April 2017 until 31 March 2021.

Rebecca Evans said:

"Social Care Wales will be a dynamic and powerful body. It will take on new responsibilities for driving improvement across our social care sector, as well as retaining existing responsibilities for regulating and developing the workforce.

"Following unprecedented interest and a competitive selection process, I am pleased to announce the membership of the new Social Care Wales board.

"The members, headed up by Arwel Ellis Owen, are passionate about, and committed to, improving social care in Wales. They have a diverse range of skills, experience and perspectives which makes them well-placed to drive improvement in social care.

"I look forward to working with Social Care Wales as it ensures we have a high-quality social care workforce that provides services fully meeting the needs of people in Wales."