## <u>Appointments to Board of Ocean Park</u> <u>Corporation announced</u>

The Government announced today (June 26) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Lau Ming-wai as the Chairman of the Board of the Ocean Park Corporation (OPC), and also re-appointed three non-official members, namely Ms Michelle Cheng, Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi and Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun, all for a term of one year from July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021.

The Secretary of Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "Mr Lau has profound commercial experience. He has had close involvement in a number of important development projects of Ocean Park since joining the Board of the OPC in July 2008 and has served as the Deputy Chairman of the Board since July 2014. He is an eminently suitable candidate to assume the new chairmanship.

"We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Mr Leo Kung Lincheng, the outgoing Chairman of the Board, for his high degree of commitment and dedication to leading Ocean Park in tackling different challenges in the past six years."

The Government also thanked the outgoing Chief Executive of the OPC, Mr Matthias Li Sing-chung, and the outgoing member of the Board, Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat, for their hard work and contributions in taking forward the development of Ocean Park.

The Government has started the rethink exercise to chart the way forward for Ocean Park's future. The Government is confident that, with the devotion and wide-ranging expertise of the Board members, the Board would participate actively and provide valuable suggestions in the rethink exercise and Ocean Park could better serve the Hong Kong community and its visitors.

The OPC is a statutory body established under the Ocean Park Corporation Ordinance to manage Ocean Park as a public recreational and educational park.