<u>Appointments to Board of Financial</u> <u>Services Development Council announced</u>

The Government announced today (January 2) the appointments of Mr Jimmy Lai Chi-ming and Dr Lin Yong to the Board of Directors of the Financial Services Development Council (FSDC) for a term from January 2, 2020, to January 16, 2021.

Announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Lau, said, "The new appointees possess extensive experience and expertise in the financial services industry. I am confident that they will provide valuable input to the FSDC in the delivery of its work objectives." Mr Lau also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing member, Ms Bonnie Y Chan, whose appointment ended on January 1, 2020, for her contribution to the FSDC over the past years.

The FSDC was established in 2013 by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government as a high-level, cross-sectoral advisory body to engage the industry in formulating proposals to promote the further development of Hong Kong's financial services industry and to map out the strategic direction for development. The FSDC has been incorporated as a company limited by guarantee with effect from September 2018 to allow it to better discharge its functions with more flexibility.

The membership list of the Board of Directors of the FSDC with effect from January 2, 2020, is as follows:

Chairman

Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen, SC

Members (16)

Dr Au King-lun Ms Diana Cesar Ms Lena Chan Mr Mark Dickens Ms Ding Chen Mr Henry Fan Hung-ling Mr Glenn Fok Dr Hu Zhanghong Mr Christopher Hui Ching-yu Mr Jimmy Lai Chi-ming * Mr Brian Li Man-bun Dr Lin Yong * Mr Joe Ngai Mr Andrew Walter Bougourd Ross Weir Ms Winnie Wong Chi-shun Mr Stephen Wong Yuen-shan

Ex-officio member

Mr James Lau (in the capacity as Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)

* newly-appointed members