<u>Appointments to Basic Law Promotion</u> <u>Steering Committee</u>

The Government today (December 28) announced the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of three incumbent members to the Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee (BLPSC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2019.

The four new members are Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee, Dr Wendy Hong, Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai and Mr Clement Woo Kin-man.

The three re-appointed incumbent members are Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung, Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC and Dr David Wong Yau-kar.

The BLPSC thanked outgoing members Mr Peter Ho Siu-ping, Ms Elaine Ma Kwai-yee and Professor Wang Guiguo for their contributions and dedication to the work of the BLPSC during their term of service.

The BLPSC was established in January 1998. It provides the necessary steer on the overall programme and strategy for promoting the Basic Law, and provides an organisational focus for co-ordinating the efforts of various parties concerned, both in the Government and in the community.

Following is the membership list of the BLPSC with effect from January 1, 2019:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official Members (In alphabetical order of family names)

Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee

Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin

Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai

Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung

Mr Henry Ho Kin-chung

Dr Wendy Hong

Mr Lau Ping-cheung

Dr Simon Hoey Lee

Mrs Clarie Lo Ku Ka-lee

Mr Thomas Lo Sui-sing

Ms Esther Ma

Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC

Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai

Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long

Ms Carol Wong

Dr Wong Kwok-keung

Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Mr Clement Woo Kin-man Mr Clifton Yeung Kin-chung Mr Yu Tai Wai

Official Members

Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs
Secretary for Education
Secretary for the Civil Service
Director of Home Affairs
Solicitor General
Director of Information Services
Director-General of Trade and Industry