<u>Appointments to Basic Law Promotion</u> Steering Committee announced

The Government today (December 27) announced the appointment of six new members and the re-appointment of six incumbent members to the Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee (BLPSC). Six new members and five incumbent members are appointed for a term of two years, while another incumbent member is re-appointed for a term of one year. The appointments will be effective from January 1, 2020.

The six new members are Miss Debbie Cheung Sui-ki, Mr Stanley Choi Takshing, Miss Fang Xin, Mr Vincent Lam Tak-hing, Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai and Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing.

The five re-appointed incumbent members for a term of two years are Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai, Dr Henry Ho Kin-chung, Mr Lau Ping-cheung, Ms Carol Wong and Mr Yu Tai-wai, while Dr Simon Hoey Lee is re-appointed for a term of one year.

The Chief Secretary for Administration thanked outgoing members Mrs Clarie Lo Ku Ka-lee, Mr Thomas Lo Sui-sing, Ms Esther Ma, Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long, Dr Wong Kwok-keung and Mr Clifton Yeung Kin-chung for their contributions and dedication to the work of the BLPSC during their term of service.

The BLPSC was established in January 1998. It provides the necessary steer on the overall programme and strategy for promoting the Basic Law, and provides an organisational focus for co-ordinating the efforts of the various parties concerned, both in the Government and in the community.

Following is the membership list of the BLPSC with effect from January 1, 2020:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official Members (In alphabetical order of family names)

Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee
Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai
Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung
Miss Debbie Cheung Sui-ki
Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing
Miss Fang Xin
Dr Henry Ho Kin-chung
Dr Wendy Hong
Mr Vincent Lam Tak-hing
Mr Lau Ping-cheung

Dr Simon Hoey Lee Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai Ms Carol Wong Dr David Wong Yau-kar

Mr Clement Woo Kin-man

Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing

Mr Yu Tai-wai

Official Members

Secretary for Home Affairs Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Secretary for Education Secretary for the Civil Service Director of Home Affairs Solicitor General Director of Information Services Director-General of Trade and Industry