<u>Appointments to Basic Law Promotion</u> Steering Committee

The Government today (December 31) announced the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of nine incumbent members to the Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee (BLPSC). Four new members and nine incumbent members are appointed for a term of two years. The appointments will be effective from January 1, 2022.

The four new members are Mr Kwok Wing-keung, Mr Lee Luen-fai, Mr Perry Suen Pang and Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai.

The nine re-appointed incumbent members for a term of two years are Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai, Miss Debbie Cheung Sui-ki, Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing, Miss Fang Xin, Mr Vincent Lam Tak-hing, Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai, Ms Carol Wong, Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing and Mr Yu Tai-wai.

The Chief Secretary for Administration and BLPSC Chairman, Mr John Lee, thanked outgoing members Dr Henry Ho Kin-chung, Mr Lau Ping-cheung and Dr Simon Hoey Lee for their contributions and dedication to the work of the BLPSC during their term of service. He also welcomed the four new members and said he looked forward to working with them closely.

Mr Lee said, "The Constitution is the root and origin of the Basic Law and 'one country, two systems'. The BLPSC will work with relevant bureaux of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government to promote the Constitution and the Basic Law through publicity and education."

The BLPSC provides the necessary steer on the overall programme and strategy for promoting the Basic Law, and provides an organisational focus for co-ordinating the efforts of various parties concerned, both in the Government and in the community.

Following is the membership list of the BLPSC with effect from January 1, 2022:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official Members

Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai Miss Debbie Cheung Sui-ki Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing Miss Fang Xin Dr Wendy Hong Mr Chris Ip Ngo-tung Mr Kwok Wing-keung

Mr Vincent Lam Tak-hing

Mr Lee Luen-fai

Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai

Ms Melissa Kaye Pang

Mr Perry Suen Pang

Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai

Ms Carol Wong

Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing

Mr Yu Tai-wai

Official Members

Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs

Secretary for the Civil Service

Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Secretary for Education

Secretary for Home Affairs

Secretary for Security

Solicitor General, Department of Justice

Director of Home Affairs

Director of Information Services

Director-General of Trade and Industry