<u>Appointments to Basic Law Promotion</u> <u>Steering Committee</u>

The Government today (December 31) announced the appointment of two new members and the re-appointment of four incumbent members to the Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee (BLPSC). Two new members and three incumbent members are appointed for a term of two years, while another incumbent member is re-appointed for a term of one year. The appointments will be effective from January 1, 2021.

The two new members are Ms Melissa Kaye Pang and Mr Chris Ip Ngo-tung.

The three incumbent members re-appointed for a term of two years are Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee, Dr Wendy Hong and Mr Clement Woo Kin-man, while Dr Simon Hoey Lee is re-appointed for a term of one year.

The Chief Secretary for Administration and BLPSC Chairman, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, expressed his gratitude to the outgoing members, Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC, Dr David Wong Yau-kar, Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung and Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai, for their contribution and dedication to the work of the BLPSC during their term of service. He also welcomed the two new members and looked forward to working with them closely.

Mr Cheung said, "The Basic Law clearly states that Hong Kong is an inalienable part of the People's Republic of China and a local special administrative region enjoying a high degree of autonomy and coming directly under the Central People's Government. The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) was established under Article 31 of the Constitution, and the systems to be instituted in the special administrative region are prescribed in accordance with the Constitution through the adoption and promulgation of the Basic Law by the National People's Congress."

He stressed, "The Constitution and the Basic Law form the constitutional basis of the HKSAR. A full and comprehensive understanding of the Constitution and the Basic Law by Hong Kong citizens is fundamental to the successful implementation of 'One Country, Two Systems'. The BLPSC will continue to promote the Constitution and the Basic Law through publicity and education to various sectors of the community."

The BLPSC was established in January 1998. It provides the necessary steer on the overall programme and strategy for promoting the Basic Law and provides an organisational focus for co-ordinating the efforts of various parties concerned, both in the Government and in the community.

Following is the membership list of the BLPSC with effect from January 1, 2021:

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Non-official Members

Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee Mrs Viola Chan Man Yee-wai Miss Debbie Cheung Sui-ki Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing Miss Fang Xin Dr Henry Ho Kin-chung Dr Wendy Hong Mr Chris Ip Ngo-tung Mr Vincent Lam Tak-hing Mr Lau Ping-cheung Dr Simon Hoey Lee Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai Ms Melissa Kaye Peng Ms Carol Wong Mr Clement Woo Kin-man Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing

Official Members

Mr Yu Tai Wai

Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs
Secretary for the Civil Service
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Secretary for Education
Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Security
Solicitor General, Department of Justice
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Information Services
Director-General of Trade and Industry